Ice Cream Star

I’m an inveterate reader. I always have several books on the go, both fiction and non-fiction, and if I run out of new things I’m happy to read old favourites over and over again. Every now and again, though, a book comes along that makes me think: why did I not realise until this moment that my life was incomplete? Some books ambush you in the first few words, and then take up a space in your heart that was waiting for them, it was only that you didn’t realise their place was already prepared.

Such a book is “The Country of Ice Cream Star” by Sandra Newman.

Please let me say: I don’t know the author, I have nothing to do with the publisher, I haven’t been asked to do this review. Ice Cream Star is just by light years the best thing I have read this year. Here’s the review I wrote for it on Amazon:

“It’s not often I wish Amazon allowed the award of six stars. This is one of those books. I’d award it maximum points for its use of language alone: Ice Cream Star speaks to us in a patois of childspeak, mutated grammar and sophisticated reasoning that is compelling to read. She has a unique voice.

The story itself is a beautifully written realisation of a harsh, unforgiving world. It is full of hardship and misery, and the kinds of half-baked systems that you would expect to be invented by children left in charge of their own future. The plot is horrifyingly plausible: a brilliantly realised dystopian vision, with Ice Cream Star front and centre, a reluctant heroine we cannot help but love.

I can only wish to write with such facility. I confidently predict that this book is going to soar.”

If you haven’t read a sample of this book yet, please do. It’s consummate prose, not a word out of place. I stayed up until 1 a.m. because I couldn’t put it down until I’d finished. Now I’m going to read it again, and see what I can learn from it. Take a look. You won’t regret it.

 

Leave a Reply

